juin 6 2012

Ms. Caroline Jonnaert and Ms. Julie Maronani give a presentation about advertising on the Web… in a few keywords

On May 6, 2012, Ms. Caroline Jonnaert and Ms. Julie Maronani, who practise in the fields of advertising and entertainment law and intellectual property, will give a presentation entitled “Publicité sur le Web : marquez votre territoire”[Advertising on the Web:, mark your territory] before members of the Quebec Technology Association (AQT).

Ms. Jonnaert and Ms. Maronani will discuss paid inclusion in regards to Canadian trade-mark law. This increasingly common advertising technique provides advertisers with the opportunity to bid on selected terms as keywords (among which competitors’ trade-marks) which are made available by search engines (such as Google, Yahoo! or Bing). This way, when an Internet user performs a search on the Web, sponsored listings associated with the keywords entered appear on the results page. When a company performs a search concerning its trade-marks, sponsored listings may sometimes appear for a competitor’s products or services. Is this practice allowed under Canadian trade-mark law? Does the Trade-mark Act include any remedies for companies who wish to prevent third parties from using their trade-marks in this way?




Add a comment

Did you know that ...

We act as “advertising consultant” for the member agencies of the Association des agences de publicité du Québec (AAPQ, an advertising agencies association), and we are in constant demand from producers on issues related to the application of the collective agreement on advertising.

Conferences

More conferences

Publications

2017 May 23

Bill 134 to modernize the CPA: overview of proposed changes

On May 2nd, Bill no. 134: An Act mainly to modernize rules relating to consumer credit and to regulate debt settlement service contracts, high-cost credit contracts and loyalty programs was introduced to modify the Consumer Protection Act, among other laws.

More publications

To know more...

For any question, please do not hesitate to contact us

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Lawyers
World Trade Center
380, Saint-Antoine St. West, Suite 7100, Montreal, Province of Quebec, H2Y 3X7
Tel.: 514 842-8891 Fax: 514 842-6202
Email info@ljt.ca

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

6 juin 2012

Mes Caroline Jonnaert et Julie Maronani donnent une conférence sur la publicité sur le Web... en quelques mots-clés

Le 6 juin 2012, Mes Caroline Jonnaert et Julie Maronani, avocates au sein du secteur du droit de la publicité, du divertissement et de la propriété intellectuelle, donneront une conférence intitulée « Publicité sur le Web : marquez votre territoire » à l’Association québécoise des technologies (l’« AQT »).

Dans le cadre de cette conférence, Mes Jonnaert et Maronani discuteront de la pratique du référencement payant au regard du droit canadien des marques de commerce. Cette pratique de plus en plus courante permet d’acheter certains termes (dont les marques de commerce d’un compétiteur, par exemple) auprès de moteurs de recherche (tels que Google, Yahoo! ou encore Bing) à titre de mots-clés. Ainsi, lorsqu’un internaute lance une recherche sur le Web, des annonces en lien avec les mots-clés recherchés lui sont présentées sur la page des résultats. Il arrive que des entreprises se trouvent confrontées à des annonces qui portent sur les produits ou les services d’un compétiteur en effectuant une recherche à propos de leur marque de commerce. Cette pratique est-elle permise au regard du droit canadien des marques de commerce? La Loi sur les marques de commerce renferme-t-elle des recours permettant aux entreprises d’empêcher un tiers d’utiliser ainsi ses arques de commerce?

 




Ajouter un commentaire

Saviez-vous que...

Nous agissons comme « conseiller aux annonces » pour les agences membres de l’Association des agences de publicité du Québec (AAPQ). Nous sommes donc constamment consultés par les producteurs sur des questions relatives à l’application de l’entente collective sur les annonces publicitaires.

Conférences

Autres conférences

Publications

23 mai 2017

Projet de loi 134 visant à modifier la LPC : un aperçu des changements proposés

Le 2 mai dernier a été déposé le Projet de loi n°134 : Loi visant principalement à moderniser des règles relatives au crédit à la consommation et à encadrer les contrats de service de règlement de dettes, les contrats de crédit à coût élevé et les programmes de fidélisation, lequel a notamment pour but de modifier la Loi sur la protection du consommateur.

Autres publications

En savoir plus

Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à nous joindre

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Avocats
Centre de Commerce Mondial
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest, bureau 7100
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 3X7
Tél. : 514 842-8891 Téléc. : 514 842-6202
Courriel : info@ljt.ca

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)