January 24 2017

Amazon forced to change its pricing practices

Jeansonne Andrée-Anne

On January 11, the Competition Bureau (the “Bureau”) announced that, as part of an agreement to resolve the Bureau’s concerns with regard to Amazon’s price display practices, the retailing giant has modified its practices and has agreed to pay $1 million in penalty and $100,000 to cover the Bureau’s costs. A consent agreement to this effect has been filed with the Competition Tribunal.

FACTS

Between May 27, 2014 and May 1, 2016, the Bureau investigated Amazon’s marketing practices, particularly the prices displayed by the retailer. The Bureau was concerned that Amazon was comparing its prices to false “regular” or “list” prices on its website Amazon.ca and on the Amazon mobile application. This practice gave consumers the impression that they were offered a good deal. In its defence, Amazon claimed to rely in good faith on the recommended list prices provided by its suppliers. However, according to the Bureau, Amazon should have verified the accuracy of those prices.

BACKGROUND

The Bureau is an independent agency responsible for enforcing the Competition Act and its mission is to preserve and promote competition in the Canadian marketplace. As part of its mandate, the Bureau regularly investigates allegations of anti-competitive practices that may contravene the Competition Act.

It is well known that consumers are more likely to buy if they think that they are getting a bargain. Savings claims are therefore an important marketing tool. Some retailers could be tempted to make false savings claims by showing inflated regular prices that are crossed out and replaced with lower sale prices. In order to prevent this type of misleading marketing practice, the Competition Act includes specific provisions prohibiting unsubstantiated savings claims. Under subsection 74.01(2) of the act, it is prohibited to make or allow someone to make false or misleading claims regarding a product’s ordinary sale price. To support an ordinary sale price claim for a product, a substantial volume of the product must have been sold at that price or a higher price within a reasonable period or the product must have been offered in good faith at that price or a higher price for a substantial period of time.

CONCLUSIONS OF THE INQUIRY AND LESSONS TO BE DRAWN

The Bureau’s inquiry concluded that Amazon’s practices created the false impression that prices offered by the retailer were lower than prevailing market prices.

The Bureau noted, however, that Amazon has taken voluntary and proactive steps to comply with the requirements of the Competition Act, including:

  • initiating changes to its pricing practices prior to becoming aware that the Bureau had concerns with the savings claim representations;
  • supressing the list prices of certain products available on www.amazon.ca, on mobile applications, in electronic messages, and in online advertisements; and
  • adopting and implementing policies and procedures to ensure compliance with the requirements of the Competition Act pertaining to deceptive marketing practices, including the requirement that list prices be established in good faith for all products offered for sale by Amazon for Amazon Retail.

As the Bureau has stated, the agreement reached with Amazon sends a clear message to the marketplace that unsubstantiated savings claims will not be tolerated. Retailers must be able to substantiate the savings claims that they advertise and it is not sufficient, as a defense,  to claim that the ordinary sale prices were provided by suppliers.

We expect that this agreement will push some retailers to change the way they establish their prices and to make sure that they are able to substantiate the ordinary sale prices that may be provided by suppliers.



Did you know that ...

We have the necessary expertise to help you to organize advertising contests worldwide, expanding your promotions beyond Québec and Canada. In fact, we do business with several international correspondents. On many occasions, we have helped our clients with the development of international promotions.

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

24 January 2017

Amazon contrainte de modifier ses pratiques

Jeansonne Andrée-Anne

Le 11 janvier dernier, le Bureau de la concurrence (le « Bureau ») a annoncé que, dans le cadre d’une entente visant à régler les préoccupations du Bureau relativement aux pratiques d’affichage des prix du géant Amazon, le détaillant a modifié ses pratiques et s’est engagé à verser une pénalité d’un million de dollars ainsi qu’un montant de 100 000$ pour couvrir certains frais engagés par le Bureau. Un consentement à cet effet a été enregistré auprès du Tribunal de la concurrence.

LES FAITS

Entre le 27 mai 2014 et le 1er mai 2016, le Bureau a mené une enquête sur les pratiques commerciales d’Amazon et plus précisément sur les prix affichés par le détaillant. Le Bureau reprochait à Amazon, via le site Amazon.ca et l’application mobile d’Amazon, de comparer ses propres prix à des faux prix dits « habituels » ou « conseillés » et d’ainsi faussement laisser croire à une aubaine attrayante pour les consommateurs. Amazon a indiqué s’appuyer de bonne foi sur les prix conseillés qui lui étaient communiqués par ses fournisseurs. Le Bureau a toutefois reproché à Amazon de s’être fiée à ces prix sans en avoir vérifié l’exactitude.

LE CONTEXTE

Le Bureau de la concurrence est un organisme indépendant d’application de la Loi sur la concurrence ayant comme mission de préserver et de favoriser la concurrence sur le marché canadien. Dans le cadre de son mandat, le Bureau enquête régulièrement sur les pratiques soupçonnées de contrevenir à la Loi sur la concurrence.

Il est bien établi que les consommateurs sont davantage portés à faire un achat lorsqu’ils croient réaliser une aubaine. Les indications relatives aux économies sont donc un outil important de marketing. Ainsi, certains commerçants peuvent être tentés de laisser faussement croire à une économie pour le consommateur en affichant un prix courant gonflé qui sera rayé et remplacé par un prix de vente inférieur. Afin de contrer cette pratique commerciale trompeuse, la Loi sur la concurrence comporte des dispositions précises interdisant les indications d’économie non fondées. L’article 74.01 (2) de la loi interdit ainsi de donner ou de permettre que soient données des indications fausses ou trompeuses sur le prix de vente habituel d’un produit. Pour établir le prix de vente habituel d’un produit, il faudra qu’une quantité importante du produit ait été vendue à ce prix ou à un prix plus élevé pendant une période raisonnable ou encore que le produit ait été offert de bonne foi à ce prix ou à un prix plus élevé pendant une période importante.

CONCLUSION DE L’ENQUÊTE ET LEÇONS À TIRER

Au terme de l’enquête, le Bureau a conclu que les pratiques d’Amazon laissaient faussement croire que les prix offerts par le détaillant étaient inférieurs aux prix courants du marché.

Le Bureau relate toutefois qu’Amazon a adopté des mesures volontaires et proactives afin de se conformer aux exigences de la Loi sur la concurrence, dont :

  • l’apport de modifications à ses pratiques d’établissement des prix avant d’avoir pris connaissance du fait que le Bureau avait des préoccupations concernant les indications d’économie;
  • la suppression du prix conseillé pour certains produits disponibles sur www.amazon.ca, dans les applications mobiles, dans les messages électroniques et dans les publicités en ligne;
  • l’adoption et la mise en œuvre de politiques et de procédures pour assurer la conformité aux exigences de la Loi sur la concurrence se rapportant aux pratiques commerciales trompeuses, notamment l’exigence selon laquelle les prix conseillés doivent être établis de bonne foi pour tous les produits offerts par Amazon pour Amazon Retail.

Comme l’affirme le Bureau de la concurrence, l’entente conclue avec Amazon envoie un message clair au marché, à savoir que les indications d’économie non corroborées ne seront pas tolérées. Ainsi, un détaillant doit lui-même être en mesure de corroborer les indications d’économie qu’il annonce et ne pourra se défendre en affirmant avoir affiché le prix habituel communiqué par son fournisseur.

Fort est à parier que cette entente poussera certains détaillants à modifier leurs pratiques d’établissement des prix, et à s’assurer qu’ils sont en mesure de corroborer les prix habituels pouvant être communiqués par les fournisseurs.



Saviez-vous que...

Certaines industries sont réglementées par des normes qui leurs sont spécifiques. Par exemple, des règles spécifiques s’appliquent à la publicité faite dans le domaine bancaire, pharmaceutique, automobile et alimentaire.

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)