December 16 2016

Coming changes for food labelling

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie

This article was writen by Ms. Caroline Jonnaert and Ms. Sophie Deschênes-Hébert

On December 14, Health Canada announced changes to the Food and Drug Regulations regarding the requirements applicable to the nutrition fact table, the list of ingredients and food colours.

According to the Honourable Jane Philpott, Minister of Health, these modifications will allow Canadians to more easily understand and use the nutrition fact table and list of ingredients on packaged foods.

Starting December 14, 2016, the food industry has five years to comply with the new requirements. During this transitional period, manufacturers have to choose between the old and new requirements. In other words, they cannot choose to comply partially to either set of requirements.

This 5-year period is necessary to give the industry the time necessary to comply with the new requirements and take into account the other regulatory changes expected under the Food Labelling Modernization Initiative of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA). The CFIA started this modernization initiative back in 2013 to develop a modern and innovative labelling system for food sold in Canada. The new system will also align with international standards.

This month, the CFIA launched the third phase of the public consultations on the modernization of food labelling in Canada. It has made publicly available a discussion paper that was drafted after the first two phases. The document describes the proposed changes with regard to food labelling:

  • Date markings for “Best Before” and “Expiration Date”;
  • Requirements for legibility and placement of information that appears on labels;
  • Requirements regarding dealer identification information;
  • Identification of origin of imported foods;
  • Requirements for ingredients highlighted with claims or images and percentage ingredient declaration;
  • Review and alignment of class names used to identify groups of similar ingredients, such as “vegetable oil”, “flavour” and “milk ingredients”; and
  • Modernization, alignment and incorporation by reference to selected food compositional standards and modified standardized common names.

The public has until February 28, 2017 to submit comments. After the consultation process ends, the CFIA will issue recommendations that may lead to regulatory amendments. Any regulatory amendments will have to follow the standard process through the Canada Gazette and may be discussed in further consultations. We will continue to follow the situation.



Did you know that ...

We have the necessary expertise to help you to organize advertising contests worldwide, expanding your promotions beyond Québec and Canada. In fact, we do business with several international correspondents. On many occasions, we have helped our clients with the development of international promotions.

Author

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie
Sophie Deschênes-Hébert
Ms. Deschênes-Hébert advises advertisers and advertising agencies for their campaigns.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

16 December 2016

Des changements en vue en matière d’étiquetage des aliments

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie

Cette publication a été écrite par Me Caroline Jonnaert et Me Sophie Deschênes-Hébert

Le 14 décembre dernier, Santé Canada a annoncé avoir apporté des changements au Règlement sur les aliments et drogues relativement aux exigences applicables en matière d’étiquetage nutritionnel, de liste des ingrédients et de colorants alimentaires.

L’honorable Jane Philpott, ministre de la Santé, a annoncé que ces modifications ont pour objectif de faciliter la compréhension et l'utilisation du tableau de la valeur nutritive et de la liste des ingrédients figurant sur les aliments emballés.

À compter du 14 décembre 2016, l’industrie bénéficiera d’un délai de cinq ans pour se conformer aux nouvelles exigences. Pendant la période transitoire, les fabricants devront choisir de respecter soit les anciennes exigences, soit les nouvelles. En d’autres termes, les fabricants ne pourront se conformer partiellement à l’un ou l’autre de ces ensembles d’exigences.

Cette période transitoire vise à donner à l'industrie le temps nécessaire pour adopter les nouvelles exigences, tout en prenant en considération les autres changements réglementaires qui sont à prévoir dans le cadre de l'Initiative de modernisation de l'étiquetage des aliments de l’Agence canadienne de l’inspection des aliments (ACIA). Cette initiative de modernisation a été entamée en 2013 et a pour but de développer un système d’étiquetage des aliments vendus au Canada qui soit moderne, novateur et uniformisé aux normes internationales.

À ce sujet, l’ACIA a lancé ce mois-ci la troisième phase de consultations publiques sur la modernisation de l’étiquetage des aliments. À cet effet, l’ACIA a mis à la disposition du public un document de discussion élaboré à la lumière des deux étapes de consultations précédentes. Ce document décrit les changements proposés à l’étiquetage des aliments, à savoir :

  • les indications de datation « Meilleur avant »  et de « date limite d’utilisation »;
  • les exigences relatives à la lisibilité et à l’emplacement des renseignements apparaissant sur les étiquettes;
  • les exigences relatives aux renseignements d’identification du fournisseur;
  • les indications de l’origine des aliments importés;
  • les exigences relatives aux ingrédients mis en évidence par des allégations ou des images et à la déclaration du pourcentage des ingrédients
  • la révision et l’harmonisation des noms collectifs utilisés pour identifier les groupes d’ingrédients similaires  tels que « huile végétale », « substance aromatisante » et « substances laitières » ; et
  • la modernisation, l’harmonisation et l’incorporation par renvoi de certaines normes de composition des aliments et des règles d’utilisation des noms usuels normalisés modifiés.

Le public a jusqu’au 28 février 2017 pour soumettre des commentaires. À l’issue de ces consultations, des recommandations seront émises, desquelles pourraient découler la nécessité d’effectuer des modifications règlementaires. Toute modification règlementaire devra alors suivre le processus normal de la Gazette du Canada et pourra faire l’objet d’éventuelles consultations. Nous resterons donc à l’affût!



Saviez-vous que...

L’utilisation du témoignage d’un consommateur dans une campagne publicitaire requiert son approbation préalable.

 

Auteur

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie
Sophie Deschênes-Hébert
Me Deschênes-Hébert conseille les annonceurs et les agences de publicité dans l'élaboration de leurs campagnes.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)