December 2 2016

Updated consumer advertising guidelines for health products

Jeansonne Andrée-Anne

Advertising Standards Canada (”ASC”), in consultation with Health Canada, is currently updating the Consumer Advertising Guidelines for Marketed Health Products (“Guidelines”).

These Guidelines are designed to help advertisers and advertising agencies create ads that comply with the legal framework applicable to consumer-directed advertising of over-the-counter drugs and natural health products. The first objective of these updated Guidelines is to extend their scope to encompass consumer-directed advertising for vaccines and medical devices.

The draft Guidelines also includes other changes. For example, clarifications were added with regard to testimonials and endorsements. This is in line with the recent amendments made to the Canadian Code of Advertising Standards . The draft Guidelines  also establish new criteria with regard to risk and safety disclosure for health products.

The Draft 2016 Consumer Advertising Guidelines for Marketed Health Products is available here. ASC gathered comments from industry stakeholders and the consultation period ended November 22, 2016. We will keep you informed of future developments.



Did you know that ...

We have the necessary expertise to help you to organize advertising contests worldwide, expanding your promotions beyond Québec and Canada. In fact, we do business with several international correspondents. On many occasions, we have helped our clients with the development of international promotions.

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

2 December 2016

Mise à jour des lignes directrices sur la publicité des produits de santé destinée aux consommateurs

Jeansonne Andrée-Anne

Les normes canadiennes de la publicité (« NCP »), en consultation avec Santé Canada, ont entamé une mise à jour des Lignes directrices sur la publicité des produits de santé commercialisés destinée aux consommateurs (« Lignes directrices »).

Les Lignes directrices visent à aider les annonceurs et les agences publicitaires à développer des publicités conformes au cadre règlementaire applicable à la publicité destinée aux consommateurs sur les médicaments en vente libre et les produits de santé naturels. L’objectif premier de la mise à jour des Lignes directrices est d’en élargir la portée, afin qu’elles s’appliquent dorénavant à la publicité destinée aux consommateurs en matière de vaccins et d’instruments médicaux.

Le projet de Lignes directrices comporte d’autres modifications. En outre, certaines précisions ont été apportées en ce qui a trait aux témoignages et aux appuis. Ces modifications s’inscrivent dans le contexte des récentes modifications apportées au Code canadien des normes de la publicité . Également, le projet de Lignes directrices prévoit de nouveaux critères en matière de communication de renseignements sur les risques et l’innocuité des produits de santé.

Le projet des Lignes directrices sur la publicité des produits de santé commercialisés 2016 est disponible ici. Les membres de l’industrie ont été invités à commenter ce projet, et la période de consultation a pris fin le 22 novembre 2016. Nous vous tiendrons informés des développements à venir.



Saviez-vous que...

Au Québec, certains concours doivent être enregistrés auprès de la Régie des alcools, des courses et des jeux.

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)