November 11 2016

New rules for bloggers and incluencers

Jonnaert Caroline

On October 3, 2016, the Canadian Code of Advertising Standards (1) (the “Code”) was amended to officially regulate sponsored testimonials, including those of bloggers and other influencers (2) .

More specifically, the Interpretation Guideline #5 – Testimonials, Endorsements and Reviews (3) (the “Guideline”) was added. Under this new Guideline, all testimonials, endorsements, reviews and other similar representations must disclose any “material connection” between the testimonial and the sponsor (4) . This connection must be clearly and prominently disclosed in close proximity to the representation (5) .

The Code now defines what a “material connection” is: mainly, it is any connection between an entity providing a product or service and a person making a statement that “may affect the weight or credibility of the representation” (6) . This connection includes benefits and incentives, such as monetary compensations, free products, discounts, gifts or even contest entries (7) .

The Guideline gives an exception when the “material connection” is one that consumers would reasonably expect to exist, for example, when a celebrity endorses a product in a television advertisement (8) .

This new Guideline applies to all media and, therefore, covers testimonials and reviews from bloggers or influencers on social networks.

In case of non-compliance with the new rules, Advertising Standards Canada (“ASC”), a national not-for-profit advertising self-regulatory body in charge of the application of the Code, will ask violators to cease their “illegal” practices. If they refuse, ASC will ask the social medium on which the publication can be found to block any recurrence.

(1) Canadian Code of Advertising Standards (2016), available online:  http://www.adstandards.com/en/standards/canCodeOfAdStandards.pdf (the “Code”)

(2) An influencer is an individual followed by many people on social networks

(3) Interpretation Guideline #5 – Testimonials, Endorsements, Reviews (2016), available online: http://www.normespub.com/en/Standards/canCodeOfAdStandards.pdf (the “Guidelines”)

(4) Interpretation Guideline #1

(5)Interpretation Guideline #2

(6) Code, s. 1.

(7) Code, s. 1.

(8) Interpretation Guideline #1.



Did you know that ...

We act as “advertising consultant” for the member agencies of the Association des agences de publicité du Québec (AAPQ, an advertising agencies association), and we are in constant demand from producers on issues related to the application of the collective agreement on advertising.

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

11 November 2016

De nouvelles règles pour les blogueurs et influenceurs

Jonnaert Caroline

Le 3 octobre dernier, le Code canadien des normes de la publicité (1) (le « Code ») a été amendé afin d’encadrer plus formellement les témoignages commandités, incluant ceux de blogueurs et autres influenceurs (2) .

Plus particulièrement, la nouvelle Ligne Directrice no 5 – Témoignages, appuis et critiques (3) (la « Ligne directrice ») a été ajoutée. Elle établit que dorénavant les témoignages, appuis, critiques et autres représentations semblables devront stipuler tout « lien matériel » entre celui qui émet le témoignage et la personne qui le commandite (4) . Ce lien devra être divulgué de façon claire et visible à proximité de la représentation en question (5) .

Le Code a été amendé afin d’inclure la définition de « lien matériel ». Il s’agit essentiellement de toute relation existant entre une entité qui offre un produit ou un service et une personne qui fait une déclaration « susceptible d’influer sur le poids ou la crédibilité de la représentation » (6) . Ce lien inclut des avantages et des incitatifs tels une compensation monétaire, des produits gratuits, des rabais, des cadeaux ou encore des inscriptions à des concours (7) .

La Ligne directrice prévoit par ailleurs une exception dans les cas où ce « lien matériel » en est un auquel les consommateurs peuvent raisonnablement s’attendre, par exemple, dans le cas d’une célébrité qui endosse un produit, dans une publicité télévisée (8) .

Cette nouvelle directive s’applique peu importe le média et couvre ainsi les témoignages et critiques émis par des blogueurs ou influenceurs sur les réseaux sociaux.

En cas de non-respect des nouvelles règles, les Normes canadiennes de la publicité (les « NCP »), organisme à but non lucratif d’auto-réglementation chargé de l’application du Code, demanderont aux contrevenants de cesser leurs pratiques « illégales ». En cas de refus, l’organisme pourrait alors s’adresser au réseau social sur lequel la publication se trouve afin qu’il en bloque la récurrence.

(1) Code canadien des normes de la publicité, (2016), disponible en ligne : http://www.adstandards.com/fr/Standards/canCodeOfAdStandards.pdf (le « Code »).

(2) Un influenceur est une personnalité suivie par un grand nombre de personnes sur les réseaux sociaux.

(3) Ligne directrice no 5 – Témoignages, appuis et critiques, (2016), disponible en ligne : http://www.normespub.com/fr/Standards/canCodeOfAdStandards.pdf (les « Lignes directrices »).

(4) Ligne directrice, art. 1.

(5) Ligne directrice, art. 2.

(6) Code, art. 1.

(7) Code, art. 1.

(8) Ligne directrice, art. 1.



Saviez-vous que...

Aucun achat requis : Il n’est pas toujours obligatoire d’inclure une participation sans achat à un concours.

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)