July 11 2016

Non-competition and exclusivity clauses are having a hard time

Wisniewski Jeremy

On January 19, 2016, the Superior Court looked into a litigious situation which emphasises the importance of properly writing non-competition and exclusivity clauses, and the burden it can be to ensure they are respected.

The facts

In Second Cup Ltd. c. 8702934 Canada Inc. (Café Vasanti), 2016 QCCS 274 (CanLII), Second Cup rents a space in a shopping centre. By presenting an exclusivity clause in its lease, Second Cup seeks to cease the exploitation of a competitor’s business in the shopping centre: Café Vasanti.

In this case, the exclusivity clause defines Second Cup as being a business ''operating a coffee shop selling gourmet coffees and espresso''. Therefore, it seeks the following exclusivity:

''Landlord shall not lease or permit the operation of any premises in the Commercial Area, in whole or in part, to any tenant or occupant who will use the premises for the principal business of a specialty coffee shop selling coffees, specialty coffees, and espresso-based drinks, such as, by way of example, a Starbucks, Tim Horton’s, Dunkin Donuts, Café Dépôt, and AL Van Houtte''.

Furthermore, Café Vasanti’s lease provides a formal commitment on its part to respect Second Cup’s exclusivity and not to ''use the premises for the principal business of a specialty coffee shop selling coffees, specialty coffees and espresso-based drinks…'', being the same terms stipulated in Second Cup’s lease.

The lessor reassures Second Cup: Café Vasanti will be a cafeteria-style business, not a specialty coffee shop.

As soon as it opens, Café Vasanti still sells filter coffee in six different thermoses. Second Cup’s sales start to drop. Second Cup initiates injunction proceedings to enforce its exclusivity clause.

The decision

The judge criticizes the drafting of the exclusivity clause and the evidence submitted by Second Cup to support its judicial action.

He first notes that Second Cup sells ''gourmet'' coffees while it seeks protection against the sale of ''specialty'' coffees.

The judge then points out the following defaults:

 

  • No definition of ''gourmet'' or ''specialty'' coffees in the lease;
  • No definition of Second Cup’s activities in the lease even though we are trying to protect a particular type of business;
  • No detailed information on Second Cup’s activities or facts to compare with Café Vasanti’s activities.

 

 

The Court observes that when a clause seeks to limit similar activities or prohibit a ''principal activity'' or a ''principal use'', a thorough analysis of the business’s elements, including its general appearance, decor and distinguishing features (price, clientele, etc.), has to be conducted.

The Court concludes at paragraph 72 of the judgement [Translation]:

''Second Cup’s exclusivity clause targets a type of establishment (« specialty coffee shop »), a listing of products (« coffees, specialty coffees, and espresso-based drinks ») and a business model or a restaurant concept (« by way of example, a Starbucks, Tim Horton’s, Dunkin Donuts, Café Dépôt, and AL Van Houtte ») all at once. The evidence is incomplete on these three aspects.''

This judgement reiterates the general principle of free competition. Non‑competition and exclusivity clauses being restrictive of such free competition, they must be interpreted by courts in a restrictive manner.

Consequently, the evidence before the tribunal will have to be carefully prepared and presented since it will be just as carefully examined. Otherwise, the clause will be of no use.

Therefore, in this case, according to the court’s comments, a comparative table of the different elements identified by the jurisprudence as distinctive elements from both stores could have helped the plaintiff to protect its commercial interests.

Do not hesitate to communicate with us if you have any questions regarding non‑competition or exclusivity clauses.

 




Add a comment

Did you know that ...

As a creditor of the bankrupt, you have the right to monitor the actions of the syndicate and administration of the bankruptcy.

Author

Wisniewski Jeremy
Jeremy Wisniewski
Jeremy Wisniewski practices in the fields of commercial arbitration and litigation.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

11 juillet 2016

Vie dure pour les clauses de non-concurrence et d’exclusivité

Wisniewski Jeremy

Le 19 janvier 2016, la Cour supérieure s’est récemment penchée sur une situation litigieuse qui souligne toute l’importance de bien rédiger des clauses de non-concurrence et d’exclusivité et le fardeau, dans les faits, de les faire respecter.

Les faits

Dans Second Cup Ltd. c. 8702934 Canada inc. (Café Vasanti), 2016 QCCS 274 (CanLII), Second Cup loue un local dans un centre commercial.  Alléguant une clause d’exclusivité dans son bail, Second Cup cherche à faire cesser l’exploitation d’un commerce concurrent dans le centre commercial, soit Café Vasanti.

En l’espèce, la clause d’exclusivité, définit Second Cup comme étant une entreprise « operating a coffee shop selling gourmet coffees and espresso ».  Par conséquent, elle recherche l’exclusivité suivante :

« Landlord shall not lease or permit the operation of any premises in the Commercial Area, in whole or in part, to any tenant or occupant who will use the premises for the principal business of a specialty coffee shop selling coffees, specialty coffees, and espresso-based drinks, such as, by way of example, a Starbucks, Tim Horton’s, Dunkin Donuts, Café Dépôt, and AL Van Houtte ».

Par ailleurs, le bail de Café Vasanti prévoit un engagement formel de sa part de respecter l’exclusivité de Second Cup et de ne pas « use the premises for the principal business of a specialty coffee shop selling coffees, specialty coffees and espresso-based drinks… », soit les mêmes termes que ceux stipulés dans le bail de Second Cup.

Le locateur rassure Second Cup : Café Vasanti sera un commerce de type cafétéria et non de cafés spécialisés.

Dès l’ouverture, Café Vasanti vend néanmoins du café filtres dans 6 différents thermos.  Les ventes de Second Cup chutent.  Second Cup intente des procédures en injonction pour faire respecter sa clause d’exclusivité.

La décision

Le juge critique la rédaction de la clause d’exclusivité et la preuve présentée par Second Cup pour soutenir sa demande en justice.

Il note d’abord que Second Cup vend des cafés « gourmet » alors qu’elle cherche une protection contre la vente de café « specialty ».

Ensuite, le juge souligne les manquements suivants:

Aucune définition de cafés « gourmet » ou « specialty » au bail;

Aucune définition au bail des activités de Second Cup alors qu’on tente de protéger un type de commerce;

Aucune preuve détaillée sur les activités, dans les faits, de Second Cup pour comparer avec les activités de Café Vasanti.

La Cour rappelle que lorsqu’une clause cherche à limiter des activités similaires ou prohiber une « activité principale » ou un « usage principal », il faut analyser de nombreux éléments du commerce visé dont son allure générale, son décor et ses caractéristiques distinctives (prix, clientèle, etc).

La Cour conclut ainsi cette affaire au paragraphe 72 du jugement :

« La clause d’exclusivité de Second Cup vise à la fois un type d’établissement (« specialty coffee shop »), une énumération de produits (« coffees, specialty coffees, and espresso-based drinks ») et un modèle d’affaires ou un concept de restauration (« by way of example, a Starbucks, Tim Horton’s, Dunkin Donuts, Café Dépôt, and AL Van Houtte »). La preuve est lacunaire sur ces trois aspects. »

Ce jugement réitère le principe général de la libre concurrence.  Les clauses de non-concurrence et d’exclusivité étant restrictives d’une telle libre concurrence, elles doivent être interprétées par les tribunaux de manière restrictive.

Par conséquent, la preuve devant le tribunal devra être minutieusement préparée et administrée puisqu’elle sera tout aussi minutieusement scrutée.  À défaut de ce faire, la clause ne sera d’aucune utilité.

Ainsi, en l’espèce, si l’on se fie aux commentaires du tribunal, un tableau comparatif des divers éléments identifiés par la jurisprudence comme constituant des éléments distinctifs des deux commerces aurait pu aider la demanderesse à protéger ses intérêts commerciaux.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions relativement aux clauses de non-concurrence ou d’exclusivité.




Ajouter un commentaire

Saviez-vous que...

L’employé qui est au service de l’employeur de façon continue et depuis au moins deux ans peut généralement être réintégré, avec une indemnité équivalente au salaire perdu depuis son congédiement, si la Commission des relations de travail considère qu’il a été congédié sans cause juste et suffisante.

Auteur

Wisniewski Jeremy
Jeremy Wisniewski
Me Wisniewski pratique en matière d’arbitrage et de litige commercial.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)