February 9 2016

Immigration Canada: New Work Permit Categories Created

Rousseau Philippe J.

The two new categories cover the following situations:

  • foreign nationals whose work is essential to television or film production
  • foreign nationals who wok in the fields of dance, opera, orchestra and theatre.

  • Foreign nationals whose work is essential to television or film production and allows to create and maintain important economic opportunities and benefits for Canadians and permanent residents.

This exemption applies to television and film production in Canada, regardless of whether the production is foreign or Canadian or whether filming takes place entirely or in part in Canada.

  • Foreign nationals who work in the fields of dance (e.g. ballet or contemporary dance), opera, orchestra and theatre, and whose work brings competitive advantages and reciprocal benefits to all Canadians, including artists and performing arts organizations.

Foreign resources who meet the criteria can be given Canadian work permits for a period of up to two years.

These two exemptions allow Canadian companies to recruit foreign talents without going through the lengthy and costly exercise of a Labour Market Impact Assessment, necessary for Canadian employers to obtain authorization from federal and provincial authorities before hiring a foreign worker.

This is good news for the Canadian film and entertainment industry!

Inform Your Foreign Visitors!

As of March 15 of this year, foreign travellers exempt from the visa obligation who are taking a flight to Canada or travelling through Canada to reach their final destination will have to obtain an Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA).

This measure applies essentially to tourists or business people who are citizens of visa-exempt countries, such as British nationals or citizens of EU member states, Australians or Japanese, for example.

Therefore, a British person coming to Canada for a one-week vacation or a Belgian employee from a foreign branch coming to attend meetings will both have to obtain eTAs. It should be noted that transit passengers will also have to obtain an eTA.

The eTA is an online registration, similar to the American ESTA. It will be valid for five (5) years. The only documents required are a valid passport, an email address and a credit card to pay the seven (7)-dollar fees.

Here is the link to obtain an eTA.

This requirement does not apply to United States citizens and to foreign nationals with valid visas. However, holders of a green card must obtain an eTA. Canadian citizens, including dual nationals, are not affected.

For holders of a Canadian work permit:

If the work permit was issued before August 1, 2015, an eTA will be required beginning March 15 of this year.

Otherwise, if the permit was issued after August 1, 2015, Citizenship and Immigration Canada has automatically issued an eTA along with the work permits.

****Although it is of a legal nature, the information available in this newsletter does not constitute an opinion or legal advice. This information is provided for information purposes only and LJT does not pretend to expose the complete state of law on any matter. Users should not take any decision solely on the basis of the information obtained from this newsletter or the LJT website without first obtaining legal advice from a professional. The content of this newsletter is protected by copyright and applicable international treaties. Please read our terms of use.




Add a comment

Did you know that ...

As the employer of a foreign worker, you are under the obligation to keep certain documents for a 6-year period.

Author

Rousseau Philippe J.
Philippe J. Rousseau
As an experienced business immigration lawyer, Philippe assists multinationals as well as small companies.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

9 février 2016

Immigration Canada : création de nouvelles catégories de permis de travail

Rousseau Philippe J.

Ces deux nouvelles catégories couvrent les situations suivantes :

  • Les étrangers dont le travail est essentiel à la production télévisuelle ou cinématographique.
  • Les étrangers qui travaillent dans les domaines de la danse , de l’opéra, de la musique symphonique et du théâtre.

Les étrangers dont le travail est essentiel à la production télévisuelle ou cinématographique et qui permettrait de créer et de conserver des débouchés et des avantages économiques importants pour les Canadiens et les résidents permanents.

Cette dispense vise la production télévisuelle et cinématographique au Canada, peu importe qu’il s’agisse d’une production étrangère ou canadienne, ou que le tournage se fasse entièrement ou en partie au Canada.

Les étrangers qui travaillent dans les domaines de la danse (p. ex. le ballet ou la danse contemporaine), de l’opéra, de la musique symphonique et du théâtre et dont le travail apporte des avantages concurrentiels et des avantages réciproques à tous les Canadiens, y compris les artistes et les organisations des arts de la scène.

Les ressources étrangères qui répondent à ces critères peuvent ainsi se voir émettre un permis de travail canadien pour une durée allant jusqu’à deux années.

Ces deux exemptions permettent ainsi à des sociétés canadiennes de recruter des talents de l’étranger sans avoir à se soumettre à l’exercice long et couteux de l’Étude d’Impact sur le Marché du Travail au travers duquel un employeur canadien doit obtenir l’autorisation des autorités fédérales et provinciales avant de pouvoir embaucher un étranger.

Il s’agit donc d’une bonne nouvelle pour l’industrie canadienne du film et du divertissement!

 

Prévenez vos visiteurs étrangers!

À compter du 15 mars prochain, les voyageurs étrangers dispensés de visa qui prennent un vol à destination du Canada ou qui transitent par le Canada vers leur destination finale devront obtenir une autorisation de voyage électronique (AVE).

Cette mesure vise essentiellement les touristes ou les gens d’affaires citoyens de pays pour lesquels aucun visa n’est requis tels les ressortissants britanniques ou des pays membres de l’Union Européenne, les australiens ou les japonais par exemple.

Ainsi, un britannique qui vient au Canada pour une semaine de vacances ou bien un employé belge d’une filiale étrangère qui vient assister à des rencontres devront tous deux obtenir une AVE. Il est à noter que les passagers en transit devront eux-aussi obtenir une AVE.

Il s’agit d’un enregistrement qui s’effectue en ligne, similaire à l’ESTA américaine. L’AVE sera valable pour cinq (5) années. Les seuls documents requis sont un passeport valide, une adresse courriel et une carte de crédit afin de payer les frais de sept (7) dollars.

**** L’information contenue dans la présente publication, bien qu’elle soit de nature juridique, ne saurait constituer un avis d’ordre juridique ou une opinion. L’information n’est fournie qu’à titre informatif et LJT ne prétend pas exposer l’état complet du droit sur quelque question. Les utilisateurs ne devraient d’aucune façon prendre des décisions uniquement sur la base des informations contenues dans cette publication ou obtenues sur le site web de LJT sans obtenir les conseils juridiques d’un professionnel. Le contenu de cette publication est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur et par les conventions internationales applicables. Veuillez-vous référer aux Conditions d'utilisation.




Ajouter un commentaire

Saviez-vous que...

La législation canadienne contient nombre d’options plus adaptées à la réalité des entreprises et permettant d’obtenir un permis de travail plus rapidement qu’au travers d’une demande d’EIMT (Étude d'impact sur le marché du travail).

 

Auteur

Rousseau Philippe J.
Philippe J. Rousseau
En tant qu'avocat spécialisé en immigration, Philippe conseille des sociétés de toutes tailles.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)