February 15 2016

Your Shareholders' Agreement and the Impact of Taxation

Therrien Benoît

For many, a shareholders’ agreement is a necessary evil that will only be useful in the unlikely event of a major disagreement between shareholders. As a consequence, not enough effort is put in drafting the agreement, and shareholders are often caught off guard when an event occurs involving this document.

One aspect often neglected when drafting a shareholders' agreement is tax legislation, even though it may have important economic consequences. Here are some of the tax issues to be considered when drafting a shareholders' agreement.

1- Death

A shareholder’s death is definitely an event that can impact your company, in more ways than just taxation. Nonetheless, relief measures should be included in case of death in order to lower heirs’ and surviving shareholders’ tax burden. Essentially, two relief measures are available: either the deceased’s shares are bought by the corporation or they are purchased by the surviving shareholders. Different variations of these two measures can be included in the agreement according to the particularities of each case. Although a life insurance benefit can be used to buy back, tax-free, the deceased’s shares through the capital dividend account (CDA), it might be more advantageous if surviving shareholders took the CDA’s dividend and they themselves bought the shares. If the deceased had a spouse, maybe some shares should be rolled over to the spouse who can sell them to the surviving shareholders and benefit from the exemption on capital gain. A well-written agreement allows some flexibility in its application to achieve an optimal result.

2-Associated companies/CCPC

Some rights granted in a shareholders’ agreement allow the association of companies to share the small business deduction (SBD). A shareholder who is granted the right to purchase shares from the treasury or from another shareholder is deemed to hold these shares even if he/she has not exercised his/her right. If this shareholder controls another company, the two companies will be associated and will have to share the $500,000 business limit to which the SBD applies. This same shareholding assumption can be applied to a corporation to make it lose its Canadian-controlled private corporation status, for example when a non-resident shareholder owns 49% of voting shares in a company, but the shareholders’ agreement grants him/her rights to gain control of the company.

Your agreement is gathering dust and you can’t quite remember what it stipulates? It may be time to update it!


 

****Although it is of a legal nature, the information available in this newsletter does not constitute an opinion or legal advice. This information is provided for information purposes only and LJT does not pretend to expose the complete state of law on any matter. Users should not take any decision solely on the basis of the information obtained from this newsletter or the LJT website without first obtaining legal advice from a professional. The content of this newsletter is protected by copyright and applicable international treaties. Please read our terms of use.




Add a comment

Did you know that ...

A simple modification of the characteristics of shares issued by a corporation can trigger tax consequences.

Author

Therrien Benoît
Benoît Therrien
Mr. Therrien focuses his practice in restructuring, purchase/sale of businesses, trust and estate planning.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

15 février 2016

La fiscalité et votre convention d'actionnaires

Therrien Benoît

Pour plusieurs, la convention entre actionnaires est un mal nécessaire, laquelle ne servira que dans l’éventualité peu probable d’une mésentente majeure entre les actionnaires. En conséquence, trop peu d’efforts sont apportés à sa rédaction et les actionnaires sont souvent surpris lorsqu’un évènement survient la mettant en cause.

L’un des aspects souvent négligé lors de la rédaction d’une convention entre actionnaires est la fiscalité, et ce malgré qu’elle puisse avoir des conséquences économiques importantes. Voici quelques enjeux fiscaux à considérer lors de la rédaction d’une convention entre actionnaires.

1- Le décès

Le décès d’un actionnaire est certainement un évènement pouvant avoir des conséquences sur l’entreprise au-delà de la fiscalité. Il convient cependant de prévoir des mécanismes de désintéressement du défunt permettant d’optimiser la fiscalité des héritiers ainsi que des actionnaires survivants. Essentiellement, il existe deux mécanismes de désintéressement, soit le rachat des actions du défunt par la société ou l’acquisition des actions par les actionnaires survivants. Plusieurs variantes de ces mécanismes peuvent être intégrées dans la convention selon les particularités de chaque cas. Ainsi, bien qu’une prestation d’assurance-vie puisse servir à racheter les actions du défunt sans impôt par le biais du compte de dividendes en capital (CDC), il serait peut-être plus avantageux que les actionnaires survivants se versent le dividende du CDC et achètent eux-mêmes les actions. Si le défunt avait une conjointe, y aurait-il lieu que certaines actions soient transférées par roulement à cette dernière afin qu’elle puisse les vendre aux actionnaires survivants en bénéficiant de son exonération de gain en capital? Une convention bien rédigée laissera une certaine souplesse dans son application permettant d’en arriver au résultat optimal.

2- Association de sociétés / SPCC

Certains droits accordés dans une convention entre actionnaires peuvent faire en sorte d’associer des sociétés aux fins du partage de la déduction pour petite entreprise (DPE). Ainsi, un actionnaire se voyant octroyer un droit d’acquérir des actions du trésor ou d’un autre actionnaire sera considéré détenir ces actions même s’il n’a pas encore exercé son droit. Si ce dernier contrôle une autre société, les deux sociétés seront associées et devront partager le plafond des affaires de 500 000 $ auquel s’applique la DPE. Le même genre de présomption de détention d’actions peut s’appliquer pour faire perdre à une société la qualité de société privée sous contrôle canadien par exemple lorsqu’un actionnaire non-résident détient 49% des actions votantes de la société mais qu’une convention entre actionnaires lui accorde des droits lui permettant d’en acquérir le contrôle.

Votre convention date de plusieurs années et vous ne vous souvenez plus de ce qui y est prévu? Le moment est peut-être venu pour une mise à jour!

**** L’information contenue dans la présente publication, bien qu’elle soit de nature juridique, ne saurait constituer un avis d’ordre juridique ou une opinion. L’information n’est fournie qu’à titre informatif et LJT ne prétend pas exposer l’état complet du droit sur quelque question. Les utilisateurs ne devraient d’aucune façon prendre des décisions uniquement sur la base des informations contenues dans cette publication ou obtenues sur le site web de LJT sans obtenir les conseils juridiques d’un professionnel. Le contenu de cette publication est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur et par les conventions internationales applicables. Veuillez-vous référer aux Conditions d'utilisation.




Ajouter un commentaire

Saviez-vous que...

Échanger des actions émises par une société en contrepartie d’actions de la même société ne constitue pas une disposition d’actions pour fins fiscales à certaines conditions.

Auteur

Therrien Benoît
Benoît Therrien
Me Therrien est spécialisé en planification fiscale et en réorganisation corporative.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)