December 3 2015

Displaying trademarks in english and The Charter of the french language

Jonnaert Caroline

Article is writed by Ms. Caroline Jonnaert and Ms. Andrée-Anne Jeansonne

On April 9, 2014, the Québec Superior Court ruled that companies whose trademarks are registered only in a language other than French may display them as is, including on storefronts, without adding a generic French word (e.g. “magasin” or “boutique”). The Court of Appeal confirmed unanimously this decision on May 1st, leading to a number of articles on the subject.

 

Summary of the Facts

According to the Charter of the French Language (the “Charter”), public signs must be in French, either exclusively or in a markedly predominant manner. In the case of trade names, a generic French word must be added to any trade name displayed in another language, pursuant to section 27 of the Regulation respecting the language of commerce and business. However, an exception is made for trademarks registered only in a language other French. These trademarks do not have to be translated or have a generic French word added to them.

However, for some years now, the Office québécois de la langue française (“OQLF”) has demanded of several businesses that they add a generic French word to their trade names (for example, Best Buy and GAP), displayed only in another language. To support this position, the OQLF argued that a denomination displayed on a storefront was more similar to a trade name than a trademark.

Courts’ Rulings

In its much anticipated decision, the Superior Court ruled against the OQLF’s arguments, concluding that the denominations in question were trademarks registered only in another language and that they benefited from the exception applicable to trademarks.  Therefore, as these are not trade names, no generic French word is required.

 The Quebec government appealed this decision and the appeal was heard on April 27.

The Court of Appeal upheld the decision of the Quebec Superior Court, confirming that under the Charter and its regulations, a trademark registered only in another language than French and without a French translation may be publicly displayed as is. According to the Court of Appeal, the rules regarding trade names are not applicable to public signs and commercial advertising and do not have precedence over the exception applicable to trademarks.

What Next?

In a news release last June 17, Ms. Hélène Rivard, minister for Culture et Communications and in charge of Protection et Promotion de la langue française, announced that the government would modify in fall 2015 the Regulation respecting the language of commerce and business in order to promote the presence of French on businesses’ storefronts. On the same day, Ms. Stéphanie Vallée, minister for Justice, announced that the Quebec government would not apply for leave to appeal the Court of Appeal’s ruling.

Business owners must now wait to know which requirements they will have to comply to under the new provisions regarding public signs in Quebec. We follow the case closely.

 

****Although it is of a legal nature, the information available in this newsletter does not constitute an opinion or legal advice. This information is provided for information purposes only and LJT does not pretend to expose the complete state of law on any matter. Users should not take any decision solely on the basis of the information obtained from this newsletter or the LJT website without first obtaining legal advice from a professional. The content of this newsletter is protected by copyright and applicable international treaties. Please read our terms of use.




Add a comment

Did you know that ...

We can quickly perform a preliminary research on the availability of a trademark before you present your clients or partners with a new slogan or trademark that may engender confusion with an existing trademark and therefore cannot be used.

Conferences

More conferences

News

2015 November 24

2012 May 9

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

3 décembre 2015

Affichage de marques en anglais et Charte de la langue française: La suite

Jonnaert Caroline

Cette publication a été écrite par Me Caroline Jonnaert et Me Andrée-Anne Jeansonne

Le 9 avril 2014, la Cour supérieure du Québec déclarait que les entreprises dont la marque est enregistrée uniquement dans une autre langue que le français pouvaient l’afficher seule, notamment sur la devanture de leurs magasins, sans y ajouter un terme générique français (par exemple, « magasin » ou « boutique »). La Cour d’appel a confirmé ce jugement dans une décision unanime rendue le 1er mai dernier, laquelle a déjà fait couler beaucoup d’encre.

Retour sur les faits

Selon la Charte de la langue française (la « Charte »), l’affichage public doit se faire en français, soit de façon exclusive, soit de façon nettement prédominante. Dans le cas spécifique des noms commerciaux, un terme générique français doit être ajouté à tout nom commercial affiché dans une autre langue, conformément à l’article 27 du Règlement sur la langue du commerce et des affaires. Cette règle sur l’affichage en français comporte également une exception pour les marques de commerce: lorsque seule une version de la marque dans une autre langue que le français a été enregistrée, il n’est pas nécessaire de traduire la marque ou d’y ajouter un terme générique en français.

Or, depuis quelques années, l’Office québécois de la langue française (« OQLF ») requérait de plusieurs commerçants l’ajout d’un terme générique en français à leurs dénominations (par exemple Best-Buy et Gap) affichées uniquement dans une autre langue. Au soutien de sa position, l’OQLF prétendait qu’une dénomination affichée sur la devanture d’un magasin s’assimilait à un nom commercial plutôt qu’à une marque de commerce.

Décisions des tribunaux

Dans un jugement fort attendu, la Cour supérieure avait rejeté l’argument de l’OQLF, concluant plutôt que les dénominations en cause étaient des marques enregistrées uniquement en une autre langue et, de ce fait, qu’elles bénéficiaient de l’exception applicable aux marques. Par conséquent, ne s’agissant pas de noms commerciaux, il n’était pas requis d’ajouter un terme générique français.

Le gouvernement du Québec a porté en appel cette décision, appel qui fut entendu le 27 avril dernier.

À l’instar du juge de première instance, la Cour d’appel a conclu que la Charte et ses règlements permettent l’affichage public d’une marque de commerce enregistrée dans une autre langue que le français et ne comportant pas de version française. Selon la Cour d’appel, les règles concernant les dénominations sociales ne s'appliquent pas à l'affichage public et à la publicité commerciale, et ne sauraient avoir préséance sur l'exception applicable aux marques de commerce.

Et la suite?

Dans un communiqué de presse émis le 17 juin dernier, Mme Hélène David, ministre de la Culture et des Communications, aussi responsable de la Protection et de la Promotion de la langue française, a annoncé que le gouvernement modifiera, dès l’automne 2015, le Règlement sur la langue du commerce et des affaires afin d'assurer une présence du français sur les façades des commerces. Le même jour, Mme Stéphanie Vallée, ministre de la justice, annonçait que le gouvernement du Québec ne demanderait pas la permission d’en appeler du jugement de la Cour d’appel.

Il faudra donc attendre à l’automne avant que les propriétaires d’entreprises ne puissent savoir exactement à quelles exigences ils devront désormais se conformer afin de respecter les nouvelles dispositions en matière d’affichage au Québec. Encore une fois, il s’agit d’un dossier à suivre!

**** L’information contenue dans la présente publication, bien qu’elle soit de nature juridique, ne saurait constituer un avis d’ordre juridique ou une opinion. L’information n’est fournie qu’à titre informatif et LJT ne prétend pas exposer l’état complet du droit sur quelque question. Les utilisateurs ne devraient d’aucune façon prendre des décisions uniquement sur la base des informations contenues dans cette publication ou obtenues sur le site web de LJT sans obtenir les conseils juridiques d’un professionnel. Le contenu de cette publication est protégé par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur et par les conventions internationales applicables. Veuillez-vous référer aux Conditions d'utilisation.




Ajouter un commentaire

Saviez-vous que...

Nous pouvons vous offrir un service de veille afin de vous aviser en temps opportun lorsque vous avez des options à exercer ou des avis à transmettre en vertu de vos contrats.

Conférences

Autres conférences

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)