septembre 13 2017

Influencer Ad in Disguise on Instagram: First ASC Decision

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie

This summer, Advertising Standards Canada (“ASC”) issued its first decision regarding mandatory disclosure of the commercial nature of an influencer’s post on social media. The complaint received by ASC concerned an influencer’s Instagram post where the influencer described her experience with a facial product manufactured by a cosmetics company. According to the complainant, the post was false or misleading because the fact that the message was sponsored was not disclosed. ASC determined that there was indeed violation of clauses 1(b) and 2 of the ASC Code:

« 1. Accuracy and Clarity

In assessing the truthfulness and accuracy of a message, advertising claim or representation under Clause 1 of the Code the concern is not with the intent of the sender or precise legality of the presentation. Rather the focus is on the message, claim or representation as received or perceived, i.e. the general impression conveyed by the advertisement.

 

(b) Advertisements must not omit relevant information if the omission results in an advertisement that is deceptive or misleading.…

2. Disguised Advertising Techniques
No advertisement shall be presented in a format or style the concels the fact that it is an advertisement.»

2. Disguised Advertising Techniques

 

In its decision, ASC states:

“Council, [sic] agreed with the complainant, finding that the Instagram post was disguised advertising and failed to disclose the relevant information that the posting contained sponsored content. The advertiser is not identified in this case summary because it took steps before Council met to adjudicate the complaint to have the post appropriately amended with the addition of “#ad”.

 

It is interesting to note that the ASC’s decision is based on clauses 1(b) and 2 of the Code, which concern advertising in general, and no reference is made to Interpretation Guideline #5 - Testimonials, Endorsements, Reviews. This guideline was adopted in October 2016 by ASC to determine the criteria that testimonials, endorsements or reviews had to meet to comply with clause 7 of the Code, which states that testimonials must not be used in a manner that is false or misleading. More specifically, this guideline states that if a material connection exists between the person giving the testimony and the advertiser, then such material connection must be clearly and prominently disclosed in close proximity to the representation about the product or service. This guideline was strongly inspired, and in fact refers to, the United States Federal Trade Commission’s Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

2. Disguised Advertising Techniques

In its decision, ASC states:

In its decision, ASC stat



Did you know that ...

We have the expertise to offer consulting services in the case of errors and omissions pertaining to web, television and cinematography productions.

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie
Sophie Deschênes-Hébert
Ms. Deschênes-Hébert advises advertisers and advertising agencies for their campaigns.
Consult detailled bio

Conferences

More conferences

To know more...

For any question, please do not hesitate to contact us

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Lawyers
World Trade Center
380, Saint-Antoine St. West, Suite 7100, Montreal, Province of Quebec, H2Y 3X7
Tel.: 514 842-8891 Fax: 514 842-6202
Email info@ljt.ca

Corporate Brochure

Corporate Brochure

For more information on our firm, our members and our services, please consult our corporate brochure.

Download PDF(1412Kb)

13 septembre 2017

Publicité déguisée d’influenceur sur Instagram : Première décision des NCP

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie

 

Cet été, les Normes canadiennes de la publicité (« NCP ») ont rendu leur première décision relativement à l’obligation de divulgation de la nature commerciale d’une publication d’influenceur sur les médias sociaux. La plainte reçue par les NCP visait une publication Instagram d’une influenceure dans laquelle cette dernière décrivait son expérience avec un soin du visage fabriqué par une société cosmétique. De l’avis de la plaignante, cette représentation était fausse ou trompeuse, car elle omettait de divulguer qu’il s’agissait d’un message commandité. Les NCP ont jugé que cette représentation contrevenait effectivement au paragraphe 1(b) et à l’article 2 du Code des NCP:

1. Véracité, clarté, exactitude

Lors de l’évaluation de la véracité et de l’exactitude d’un message, d’une allégation publicitaire ou d’une représentation en vertu de l’article 1 du Code, on ne s’intéressera pas à l’intention de l’annonceur ni à la légalité précise de la représentation. On considérera plutôt le message, l’allégation ou la représentation tels que reçus ou perçus, c’est-à-dire l’impression générale qui s’en dégage.

[…]                                                                                                                                                                         

(b) Une publicité ne doit pas omettre une information pertinente si cette omission rend la publicité mensongère.

 

2. Techniques publicitaires déguisées

Aucune publicité ne doit être présentée dans un format ou dans un style qui masque le fait qu'il s'agit dMune publcité

[…]                                                                                                                                                                         

(b) Une publicité ne doit pas omettre une information pertinente si cette omission rend la publicité mensongère.

2. Techniques publicitaires déguisées

 

Les NCP mentionnent dans leur décision ce qui suit :

 

« Le Conseil est du même avis que la plaignante, jugeant que le message sur Instagram est une publicité déguisée et qu’il ne divulgue pas l’information pertinente à l’effet qu’il comporte un contenu commandité. L’annonceur n’est pas identifié dans le présent résumé parce qu’il a pris les mesures nécessaires avant que le Conseil ne se réunisse pour juger la plainte afin de modifier adéquatement le message en y ajoutant « #pub ».

 

Il est d’ailleurs intéressant de mentionner que les NCP fondent leur décision sur les dispositions 1(b) et 2 du Code, relatives à la publicité en général et qu’aucune référence n’est faite à la Ligne directrice no 5 – Témoignages, appuis et critiques adoptée par les NCP en octobre 2016, laquelle vise à établir les critères pour qu’un témoignage, un appui ou une critique soient conformes à l’article 7 du Code établissant qu’aucun témoignage ne peut être utilisé d’une manière qui soit fausse ou trompeuse. Plus spécifiquement, cette ligne directrice énonce que lorsqu’il existe un lien matériel entre la personne livrant le témoignage et l’annonceur, ce lien matériel doit être divulgué de façon claire et bien visible à proximité immédiate de la représentation portant sur le produit ou le service. Cette ligne directrice est fortement inspirée des lignes directrices de la Federal Trade Commission aux États-Unis intitulées Guide to Testimonials & Endorsements, auxquelles elle renvoie.

 


 

 



Saviez-vous que...

Un simple bon de commande est souvent insuffisant lorsque vous retenez les services de pigistes.

Deschênes-Hébert Sophie
Sophie Deschênes-Hébert
Me Deschênes-Hébert conseille les annonceurs et les agences de publicité dans l'élaboration de leurs campagnes.
Consulter sa fiche

Conférences

Autres conférences

Publications

30 mars 2015

Congratulations! you've been selected to receive a free cruise to the Bahamas!

Pendant plusieurs années, l’entreprise floridienne Consolidated Travel Holdings Group a inondé les lignes téléphoniques de Canadiens et d’Américains en effectuant plus de 3000 appels automatisés par minute, afin de leur annoncer qu'ils avaient gagné une croisière « gratuite » aux Bahamas.

Autres publications

En savoir plus

Pour toute question, n’hésitez pas à nous joindre

Legault Joly Thiffault (LJT) Avocats
Centre de Commerce Mondial
380, rue Saint-Antoine Ouest, bureau 7100
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 3X7
Tél. : 514 842-8891 Téléc. : 514 842-6202
Courriel : info@ljt.ca

Brochure d'entreprise

Brochure d'entreprise

Pour plus d'informations relativement à notre cabinet, ses membres et ses services, consulter notre brochure d'entreprise.

Voir le PDF(1411Ko)